About REKA Awards - Design Excellence


The MIID REKA Awards 2023 for Design Excellence shall be conferred to Malaysian Institute of Interior Designers (MIID) and Lembaga Arkitek Malaysia (LAM) registered Members practicing Interior Design for works completed between the years 2020 to 31st July 2023 that best exemplify the pursuit of excellence in Interior Design.

Excellence in Interior Design refers to excellence in its design and the consistent translation of its intentions into reality, the concurrent high quality of construction and its beneficial impact on the social, physical and the cultural environment of the country.

Awards shall also be conferred to students whose works reflect good design, problem-solving capabilities and soundness in construction.

  • To recognise Interior Designers and Students who pursue excellence in design which reflect local content in design, detail, material, etc.
  • To recognise the client bodies and builders who enable the achievement of excellence in Interior Design.
  • To promote the development of quality built interior environments that have beneficial, social, physical and cultural impacts on the community and country.
  • To recognise young talent through students’ course works in relation to various components of the course.

2023 Award Categories - Design Excellence

Awards are conferred for the following categories:

·       Professional

1.    Public & Institutional (Public Spaces, Healthcare, Auditoriums, Terminals, etc.)

2.    Food & Beverage (Restaurants & Bars)

3.    Corporate Offices

4.    Hospitality (Hotel, Clubhouse, Spa, etc.)

5.    Retail, Exhibition & Entertainment (Retail, Gallery, Museum, Club, fitness centre, Karaoke, Cinema, Gaming, Spa, etc.)

i) Small & Medium

ii) Large

6.    Residential (Houses, Apartments & Condominiums)

7.    Show Units

8.    Green Interior & Adaptive Reuse

·       Student’s Work

·       Emerging Designer Award

Special Awards

·       Best Interior Design of the Year (Winner will be selected from entries from categories 01-08 )

·       Aoyama Design Forum (ADF) Special Award

    Judging Criteria - Design Excellence - Professional Categories 1-8

    • Design Impact - Express the positive impact it has created
    • Creativity / Originality – Originality of the design merits
    • Spatial Usage – Address functional aspects of the design through the use of strategic space planning
    • Functionality – ergonomics, refined detailing, sustainability aspects

      Judging Criteria - Design Excellence - Student Category

      • Concept / Idea- originality, creativity
      • Space Planning – overall flow, practicality
      • Material & Finishes – lighting, colour scheme, material suitability
      • Presentation – quality of visual presentation, 3D perspectives
      Entry Fees
      • MIID Members RM450.00 per entry 
      • Non-Members RM700.00 per entry
      • MIID Student Members RM50.00 per entry
      Closing Date & Time
      • All entries must be submitted online, and payment made by Thursday, 31st August 2023, 11.59pm.
      Refund Policy

      The entry fees paid are non-refundable. Please ensure that your entry/entries meet(s) the requirements to participate in the MIID REKA Awards before submitting payment. No payments will be refunded in the event your entry is disqualified or withdrawn for any reason after submission and payment has been made. Please contact the MIID Secretariat for more information regarding payments.

      The Judges

      The Judges for the Awards comprising design luminaries shall be nominated and approved by the MIID Council. All decisions made by the Judges are final and binding on all entries.

      Entry Requirements
      • Participating professional Interior Designers and Architects for Categories 01-08 must be registered with Lembaga Arkitek Malaysia (LAM) and practicing interior design.
      • Entries submitted must be completed between the years 2020 to 31st July 2023.
      • Submissions of projects must be consented to by the client(s)/owner(s).
      • Professionals are welcome to submit one or more entries for any or all categories. Each entry will be subject to the entry fees stated above.
      • For the Student category, each student is only allowed to submit one project per student.
      Terms & Conditions
      • The MIID REKA AWARDS 2023 - DESIGN EXCELLENCE is organised by the Malaysian Institute of Interior Designers (MIID), the “Organiser”.
      • All entries must be submitted via the MIID REKA Awards e-submission website. You will be directed to create an account the first time you use the site. The type of account you select while registering will determine the category of awards you can submit for.
      • Enter all the entry details on the online form and attach the required entry materials. A separate entry form is required for each project submitted.
      • There must NOT be any mark or identification (e.g. name/logo/watermark) of the Entrants on ANY of the Entry Materials, including the project briefs, plans and photos.
      • If you wish to submit the same entry for multiple categories, you may duplicate the entry and submit for a different award category.
      • Online Payments: Fee payments can be made online via Bank Transfer/Credit Card.
      • Cheque Payments: All cheques should be made payable to PERTUBUHAN PEREKABENTUK DALAMAN MALAYSIA. You will need to upload a scanned copy of the proof of payment along with your submission.
      • Entries will be disqualified in the event payment is not received before or on the closing date.
      • All materials submitted for MIID REKA AWARDS 2023 must in no way infringe the copyright laws of Malaysia.
      • The entries are submitted and accepted on the agreement by the Entrants that there are no restrictions or fees payable for their reproduction by the Organiser of the Awards, and that the owner of the premises has given consent for nomination. MIID and/or its agents reserve the right to reproduce any of the Entry Materials in MIID’s media and publications, and in other media and publications authorised by MIID.
      • The Organiser reserves the right to retain, for any period necessary, all materials submitted for the purpose of exhibition and publication, and NO payment, fee or charge will be made whatsoever to any Interior Designer, person or firm for such entries published.
      • MIID will not be responsible for the costs incurred for any of the submissions.
      • It shall be the sole discretion of the Judges to give Awards for one or more or none of the listed categories. Decisions made are final, and no correspondence, queries and matters related directly or indirectly to the Awards will be entertained.
      • Finalists and Winning entries submitted for previous MIID-organised competitions are not eligible for consideration and are not permitted to be proposed for MIID REKA AWARDS 2023 and will be automatically disqualified if submitted.
      • The winners may be required to present their works upon invitation and request by MIID.
      • Entries may be selected by MIID to participate in other competitions, events, exhibitions, etc. at MIID’s discretion.
      • Only the name of the registered Interior Designer or Company in-charge of the winning project will be recognised in the award and one the trophy.
      • MIID as the Organiser, reserves the right to amend the terms and conditions of the MIID REKA AWARDS 2023 as and when it deems necessary, in the interest and objectives of MIID.